Edgar Awards

12 May



The Edgar Awards

The Mystery Writers of America give these awards to honor the best in mystery fiction and nonfiction produced the previous year. The awards began in 1954 and are named in honor of Edgar Allan Poe.

See the Edgar winners and nominees, 1954-2001

See all book awards


Best Novel:
· Christine Falls by Benjamin Black
· Priest by Ken Bruen
· The Yiddish Policeman’s Union by Michael Chabon
· Soul Patch by Reed Farrel Coleman
· Down River by John Hart — Winner!

 Best First Novel by an American Author:
· Missing Witness by Gordon Campbell
· In the Woods by Tana French — Winner!
· Snitch Jacket by Christopher Goffard
· Head Games by Craig McDonald
· Pyres by Derek Nikitas


 Best Paperback Original:
· Queenpin by Megan Abbott — Winner!
· Blood of Paradise by David Corbett
· Cruel Poetry by Vicki Hendricks
· Robbie’s Wife by Russell Hill
· Who Is Conrad Hirst? by Kevin Wignall


 Best Fact Crime:
· The Birthday Party by Stanley Alpert
· Reclaiming History by Vincent Bugliosi — Winner!
· Chasing Justice by Kerry Max Cook
· Relentless Pursuit by Kevin Flynn
· Sacco & Vanzetti by Bruce Watson


  Best Critical/Biographical Work:
· The Triumph of the Thriller by Patrick Anderson
· A Counter-History of Crime Fiction by Maurizio Ascari
· Deviance in Contemporary Crime Fiction by Christiana Gregoriou
· Arthur Conan Doyle: A Life in Letters by Jon Lellenberg, Daniel
            Stashower and Charles Foley — Winner!
· Chester Gould: A Daughter’s Biography of the Creator of Dick Tracy by Jean Gould O’Connell


 Best Young Adult:
· Rat Life by Tedd Arnold — Winner!
· Diamonds in the Shadow by Caroline B. Cooney
· Touching Snow by M. Sindy Felin
· Blood Brothers by S.A. Harazin
· Fragments by Jeffry W. Johnston


 Best Juvenile:
· The Name of This Book is Secret by Pseudonymous Bosch
· Shadows on Society Hill by Evelyn Coleman
· Deep and Dark and Dangerous by Mary Downing Hahn
· The Night Tourist by Katherine Marsh — Winner!
· Sammy Keyes and the Wild Things by Wendelin Van Draanen



 Grand Master Award:
· Bill Pronzini

Take a look Down River      In the Woods   

             Rat Life              The Assassination of President John F. Kennedy



2008 Grand Master Edgar Award Winner: 

             Bill Pronzini





We look forward to a terrific year of reading, filled with exciting, interesting and thought provoking titles, many of which are sure to be listed on the Edgar Awards list for 2009!

Comments Off on Edgar Awards

Posted by on May 12, 2008 in 3R♥s


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: