RSS

Mommy Where Are You? by Barbara Rockaway

06 Apr

 

from Cedar Valley Publishing

image

image

For those who have lost a parent, especially at a tender age, this book will help with the transition. Learning to see, hear and feel the presence of their missing parent in everyday activities will bring warmth, understanding and a sense of peace, where the death of their parent has left a deep feeling of nothingness and confusion. If those negative emotions are left unresolved the child never has an opportunity to grieve and thus will carry a heavy heart throughout their lives. I know, having lost my Mother when I was five years old, I didn’t understand what was happening and I certainly didn’t grasp the concept of my Mom being in Heaven with the angels – all I knew was I missed her and I wanted her back… I wanted to know what I had done wrong to make her leave… and the adults around me seemed clueless as to what to say – so they opted to say nothing. I was left in a state of confusion, surrounded by silence and my heart was breaking.

This little book wouldn’t have made everything alright, but it would have gone a long way in helping me learn how to live without my Mom and that it was okay to smile and to have fun. It would have made things a lot easier on the adults in my life as well, giving them a tool to refer too – something to open the conversation and make it okay to talk about the hard stuff.

If you or someone you know has lost a parent, pick up a copy of this book – it will help!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2010 in 690435

 

Leave a Reply

 
